A test? Already?

So we had our first day of school today, me and the kids.  The kids had a great day and are very happy to be back to playing with friends all day.  I had a good day too.  I have one more class tomorrow that I didn’t have today and I’ll have a much better idea of how the semester is going to be once that class is over.

First of all is that we have a medication test in each class that we have a clinical in, so this semester we will end up taking 3 medication math tests.  The first one is for peds and it is tomorrow.  I’m a little concerned because it came up so quick and now I’m procrastinating from studying for it.  The other issue I have is that they want to know what the safe doses are and right now, since I’ve only had one day of peds, I have no idea what they are.  Oh, did I mention that we have to get 100% on this exam or we fail out of the clinical portion of the class, which essentially means we fail the class? 

Peds is being taught by two teachers and I’m not sure why.  We have this class 2 days a week and on one day is one teacher and on the next day is the next teacher, but they are both at both classes.  It seems like a strange arrangement and I don’t think I like it.  Mainly because the teacher who was not teaching today kept interrupting and contradicting the teacher who was teaching today. 

We had our first class of the second half of patho/pharm and I LOVE our new teacher.  She totally rocks and I felt like I actually already learned something.  It really goes to show you that some training on getting the information out of your head and into the heads of your students is so important.

And my last thing for today is that I started working out today.  My goal is to get back into shape by the end of the semester.  It is so important to be fit for myself, the kids and my new profession.  I can’t imagine how hard it must be to be an out of shape nurse, especially because you have to do so much running around and lifting and bending and all that.

~Flo

Published in: on January 13, 2009 at 5:42 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://medicatedmusings.wordpress.com/2009/01/13/a-test-already/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

