PICU

I know I’ve been MIA lately, but I promise it is just due to sickies and our first round of exams. 

I got to rotate through the PICU today during Peds clinicals.  I’ve determined that I love the ICU part but the P part, not so much.  I just wanted to pick up those little babies and hold them, but when they’ve got intestines on the outside and tubes going everywhere, it just isn’t possible.

I did learn a whole lot today though.  I learned that I can do anything, even if it makes my eyes tear up a little.  And I learned that not all parents are with their children in the hospital.  Now, I realize that it isn’t always feasible for a parent to miss a bunch of work or whatnot, but then come be there at night, have someone else come in, do something so that your child is not alone in the PICU.  And definately do something so that the nurses don’t talk about how you never show up to be with your child. 

There was a child with a head injury so I learned a whole bunch of cool neuro shit too, but I can’t tell you about it because it would violate HIPPA and all that.  Unfortunately it is just different enough for me to not be able to mix up and all that.  And I learned that the educator is my best friend (BFF!!!) because they spent 1.5 hours with me just showing me patients and teaching me stuff.  I will share the acronyms and stuff I learned in a later post.

Oh, and Disappearing John is now an educator and I can see why he loves the job.  I bet he is a great one too!  I feel like I had so much more to say but my mind is a little discombobulated right now, and yes, that is the technical term.  I’ll go play some Lego Star Wars on the Wii with my hubby and see if it gets better.

~Flo

Published in: on January 30, 2009 at 4:50 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://medicatedmusings.wordpress.com/2009/01/30/picu/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

